What’s Your Excuse?

3 Apr

 

Everyone makes excuses. I, especially with school assignments, have made plenty in my day. But one day, while listening to a sermon, my pastor quoted an obvious but necessary truth from the the evangelist Billy Sunday.

“An excuse is the skin of a reason, stuffed with a lie.”

-Billy Sunday

This quote stuck with me. It made me think of all the excuses that I have made over the years.”Oh, I couldn’t submit my essay because it wouldn’t download”…lie. “I forgot my math assignment at home!”…lie. On and on and on, I reflected on all of my excuses and realized that Billy had hit the nail right on the head. All of those “excuses” are flat out lies. But lets take this to a deeper level. Not only are these excuses a lie, which is a sin, but are self-justifying lies which is bad enough when used on a person, but we don’t just make excuses to people, we try to make excuses to God. God knows all that we do; every thought, every work, every word, everything. This can be a scary thought sometimes, especially when we are in the wrong.There can be serious consequences for lying and trying to lie to God. When thinking of lying, I recall Ananias and Sapphira.

If these two people escape your memory, lets take a trip over to Acts 5. Ananias and his wife Sapphira sell a piece of land and withhold from the Lord. They then lie about their bad deed and the Lord strikes down Ananias and then Sapphira is afraid and comes clean out of fear but her fate has already been sealed. When we lie to God we make a mockery of His name, especially if we proclaim ourselves to be servants of God. However, God is not to be mocked.

“Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for  whatever one sows, that will he also reap.” Galatians 6:7

Next time, we think of making an excuse, remember it has consequences. I am not saying that the same fate of Ananias and Sapphira with befall you, but I am saying that we need to understand the consequences of our actions. We are to fear the Lord but not in the respect that most people believe. I feel that fearing the Lord is loving Him so much that we are afraid to hurt Him. Lies hurt Him, other sins hurt Him and as Christians and children of the most high God we should repent for fear of hurting Him, not because we are selfish and are scared to be corrected by Him, but because we love Him.

I am a sinner. I struggle with sin every day but the Lord knows I hate sin and hate when I give in to my flesh. Our sanctification is a life long process and the Lord is long-suffering but that is no excuse to act like an impetuous child. We must strive to walk with Him and live for Him which means not making excuses.

 

If  you are not a believer, one of the worst mistakes you can make is making an excuse for not coming to Christ. “Well… my friends will mock me. I don’t want to walk to the front of church with all these people. I don’t want my family to give me a hard time. I will clean myself up first and change my way and then i’ll come to Christ.” Trust me, these excuses are easy to make, i’ve been there. My advice to you is this: let them mock, prove them wrong, come forward in a place where everyone rejoices with you and is crazy in love with Jesus (they won’t bite, trust me). And most importantly, come as you are to the foot of the cross. We can’t clean ourselves up, but the Lord can. He is with us every step of the way in our sanctification and when you come to His feet and surrender your life He will never leave you, nor forsake you!

 

Leave a Reply

