Pushing Forward

31 Dec

So it’ almost 2012 and I have been racking my brain trying to figure out what to say, so here goes. 2011 is a year of my life that I will never forget. I started this blog, which has definitely been a new experience. I have learned a lot and am excited to see where it goes this next year! I finished my second semester of college at the University of New Mexico and recorded a choral CD with Las Cantantes. And I committed to reading through the Bible this year! All of these amazing things are a part of my life that have influenced me greatly, but none of these experiences are what has defined 2011 as life changing.

The change came on July 30th when I packed up a U-Haul and moved my life out to Phoenix Arizona to serve at The Anthem. I moved with no job lined up and a very limited amount of money but I knew that the Lord would provide. And guess what? He did. I got a job within two weeks of living there. He then provided a place for me to live in Tempe.

God throws us curve balls and you just have to work with them. I love seeing God move in Arizona. And don’t get me wrong; there are days when I miss Albuquerque. I would be lying if I didn’t say that I sometimes think of how my life would be if I wouldn’t have followed His calling to Arizona. I have no idea how this change is going to truly effect my life in the long run but that is the beauty of following Jesus. I don’t have to know (Jeremiah 33:3), I don’t have to worry (Matthew 6:34). I just have to stay focused on Jesus and commit to following Him with my whole heart.

Because it’s is the start of a new year tomorrow, I sure that everyone is making resolutions but I would challenge you to not make any resolutions. Only make commitments to the Lord for this next year. If you want to lose weight, which tends to be the number one resolution, have proper motives. Lose weight because are bodies are to be living sacrifices, because gluttony is a sin, and because our bodies are his temple. Not because you want to run around in  a bikini on the beach. If you make a commitment to study His word more faithfully, do it. It’s the most rewarding thing that you can do.

So there are three commitments that I suggest you make:

  1. Try to lead at least one person to Christ this year. We are commissioned to do so in Matthew 28:19-20.
  2. Bury yourself in the word of God this year. If your quiet time consists of 30 minutes, strive for 45! Or just establish a consistent time each day to study.
  3. Pray more. Approach the Lord on your knees and do not limit the all mighty God to only the small things. Pray audaciously!

I am looking forward to what the Lord is going to do in this next year. He is moving, He is amazing, and He has an ultimate plan. Enter this year worshiping the Lord in all that you do and love Him with all of your heart, soul, mind, and strength!

Leave a Reply

