Verse of the Week

11 Nov

Something that has been heavy on my heart lately is living the crucified life. Living a life worthy of Christ and His gospel. A life that shines His glory as my fleshly self disappears. I will readily admit that I have not been allowing God to totally take control of certain areas of my life and my disobedience in that has caused a hinderance in my walk that I am simply not ok with. He has been showing me a lot of things that I need to let go of and He is giving me the strength to do it. Praise the Lord for His patience because I am unbelievably stubborn.

God’s Word has given us a clear picture of how we should live. His heart toward us is laid out for all to see. His will is not that we should perish or live in fear or  in disconnect. He wants us to experience His indescribable peace which knows no bounds. He not only died for us and atoned for our sins but wants  to be in an intimate relationship with us. But we just don’t want to let go of some areas of our lives whether it be money or contentment  or anxiety. We don’t want to fully release the control over our own lives but we must. We have to give ourselves to Him in absolute totality so that He may truly be our all in all.  I share this today because I know that I am not the only Christian in the world who has this issue, even Paul speaks about this in Romans 7:14-24.

“We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature.For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death?”
I know that I have felt like Paul does in this passage of scripture many times over. I want to take hold of God’s will for my life and start doing the good that I want to do instead of the evil that I do not. The Lord has been showing me that my heart and mind need to be renewed. I need to let go and let Him change me and be proactive in seeking His face.
With all this being said, I have decided to spend a few weeks working on Scripture memorization sharing a few of my thoughts along the way. My goal is to make Scripture memorization a priority and to allow the daily application of these passages to open the door so that God may do a work in me. I want to be obedient to Him and applying His Word to my life is a huge part of that obedience.
I feel that Scripture memorization is huge as a Christian for several reasons and is a part of the Christian life that seems to be a bit neglected these days. I’ll post some verses that you don’t know and a few that you most likely will already know. This is intentional. I want the promises of the Lord to be renewed in our hearts and minds. The Word should never become stale to us nor should it be skimmed over, but meditated on day and night. For those of you who don’t know why it’s important to take hold of the Word let me give a few reasons why I feel that it is an absolute necessity.
1. Jesus did it (this should be reason enough). He quotes Scripture about 180 times through out the New Testament.
2. We  are called to. In Colossians 3:16 we are told the Word of Christ is to dwell in us richly.
3. Helps keep us from temptation. “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” Psalm 119:11
4.Helps you to know God. You learn about His character and attributes.
5.Helps you to live in obedience. “How can a young person stay on the path of purity? By living according to your word.” Psalm 119:9
6. Helps you to encourage fellow believers. “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness” 2 Timothy 3:16
I pray that the Lord will renew my heart and mind with His Word in this time and reveal Himself in a deeper way. I am so excited and hope that if anyone is joining me in this that the Lord will bless this endeavor as we seek His face!
Leave a Reply

