Week One: Proper Eyesight

11 Nov

“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 

2 Corinthians 4:18

Having good eyesight is important. It’s the difference between seeing a beautiful oak tree verses a giant green and brown blob. Or even going through an open door instead of running into a wall. I know that I am really bad about getting caught up in the temporary. Whether it be an issue at work, a financial burden, or even just having a lack of contentment, I am a master of getting discouraged at the slightest problem. I get blinded by my circumstances and instead of trying to find the door I keep running into the wall. But God has better things for us then just a wall or a big green blob. He has beauty ready for us, we just need to have the eyes to see it. We  need to look at life through the Bible to truly see. Christian, this world is not your home, heaven is. The trick is to see past the now and to look toward eternity, to look toward Jesus.

Pray: Jesus I want to focus on You with everything that I have. Not getting caught up in the worries of this life and on the temporary, but setting my heart on You. Help me to seek Your face and to do Your will.

Ask Yourself: During this week focus on your priorities. Are they of the world or of the Lord? Am I focused on my circumstances or on God’s will and plans?

Apply: If your heart is burdened by the temporary give it to the Lord, repent, and remember that we serve a God bigger than our circumstances and who loves you unconditionally. Strive to see God in everything not just in your devo time or at church. Give Him your undivided attention and truly seek after Him and allow Him to transform your heart, mind, and eyes.

Leave a Reply

