Week Three: Who Do You Trust?

25 Nov

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

Proverbs 3:5-6

I am going to be honest; I am not an exceedingly trusting person. I do of course have expectations of people and will extend the opportunity for my trust to be earned, but I always have a back up plan ready just in case someone doesn’t follow through because at one point or the other things wont pan out. Maybe this makes me a bit pessimistic but at least I can say that I am realistic. I know that we are all fallen people who make mistakes and can be forgetful; I am guilty of the same condition, which is probably why it takes so much for me to extend trust to others. In many areas of my life I cannot trust myself to follow through or do what is correct and I stumble a lot, so why should I expect something from others that I cannot attain myself? But the things that I struggle with are things that aren’t meant to the carried by myself or really at all. God does not intend for us to live our lives alone, he wants to take our burdens. Only He can see where we are heading, and I know that it’s counterintuitive to take the back seat in life but we must. The minute we stop fighting His will and start living it, is the moment we get to experience the abundant lives we were meant to live from the start. So let go and trust God.

Pray: Jesus, please help me to just let go. To put my trust in you and not in myself. Give me the power to submit my heart and mind to you so that I may follow Your perfect will for my life.

Ask Yourself: Who am I trusting? Myself or the Lord? Am I submitting every aspect of my life to Him or am I still caught in the middle of a power struggle between my flesh and my savior?

Apply: Just let it go. Whatever the struggle is you are having, just hand it over to the Lord. Trust that He has your best interest at heart and let Him move. He truly is the only constant in life and He wants to carry your burdens so let Him.

Leave a Reply

