Week Four: ‘Til My Dying Day

2 Dec

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Galatians 2:20

This is a really weighty scripture that I cannot properly dissect in this particular post, but I will try to give a glimpse of its beauty and share more on it a bit later. So here goes. Christ desires for us to live for Him and worship Him fully. He honestly wants for us to live our lives in a way that we would please the Father and lead others to Himself. A life of faith. A life of love. A life that is crucified. This is the part of Christianity that people have a hard time swallowing, and understandably so, but it is so important that we strive daily to reach this goal that Paul presents to us in Galatians. You aren’t suppose to simply be religious and go to church on Sunday and maybe attend a midweek service and call yourself a Christian. You are to take a backseat as Christ moves, changes, and shapes you into His image. To put it simply, you have to kill your flesh to be made into the likeness of Christ. We must worship Him in every aspect of life, not just once a week. He is the Alpha and Omega, He is righteous, He is just, and He is everything. He wants all of you, so trust that He has better plans for you that you do for yourself and that He is bigger than any circumstance. Take hold of the life Christ has planned for you because He will use you mightily if you do.

Pray: God, help me to live a crucified life. Help me that I may die to my flesh and sinful desires and seek you fully. Make clear to me the changes that need to be made in my daily walk and convict me of any sin that may be lurking within me. I pray that I would walk by faith and not by sight and that you would create in me a likeness to Christ, so that others may see Your Son shine through me.

Ask Yourself: Am I truly living my life by faith in Christ? What parts of my life am I not giving over to Him fully and why? Am I trying to attain a crucified life where I worship God unashamedly and wholly?

 Apply: Pray that the Lord would show you what area of your life needs to be immediately changed and start working on it. Seek His guidance in the Word and continually seek His face. Fast if you need to fast, weep if you need to weep, and keep your thoughts focused on Him. Do this for every area of your life and He will grow you if your motivation is to glorify Christ.

P.S: This is a lifelong journey. Don’t expect everything to change over night. Just press on and trust that He is faithful and don’t get discouraged if you stumble. Repent and seek Him harder!

Leave a Reply

