Week Twelve: Face-plant

29 Jan

 

“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God”

Romans 3:23

Look up the word perfect in the dictionary…seriously, look it up. I’ll wait…

 

…What do you see? I bet it says phrases like “entirely without fault or defect” or “satisfactory in all requirements” or even “legally valid”. Let me translate those phrases for you: they mean everything that you are not. I don’t know about you, but I have plenty of faults and defects. I am pretty sure that I don’t always fulfill the requirements that God or life throw at me. And in regards to the law…sometimes I break commandments and don’t use my turn signal when I drive. But God knows this and still loves me and wants to use me. And that goes for everyone. But if you don’t believe me, I’ll give you some examples from the Bible. Look at Rahab, David, Peter, and Paul. Rahab was a prostitute. David kept running away from everything and then committed adultery when he finally let God prosper him. Peter had trouble understanding Jesus’ teaching, didn’t know when it was appropriate to speak, lost faith quickly, and denied Jesus three times before He was crucified. And Paul, before his conversion, was a legalistic Jew whose life work was murdering Christians. These are real people, who lived through real difficulties, and who God used for His glory. Rahab helped the children of Israel infiltrate Jericho. David ruled Israel mightily and wrote a majority of the psalms. Peter served God with fervor and spread the Gospel with such faith that he became a martyr. And Paul is the author of most of the New Testament and founded churches all across Eurasia. All of these people, at one point or another, have not just fallen, but have face-planted into sin. But God has plans for us. We just have to run towards Him and although we may stumble, He will catch us before be biff it too badly. Trust that God has your back even when you fail and that you have been redeemed by the One who really is perfect.

 

Pray: God, thank you for being who you are. You are so good to me even though I sin against You. Thank You for the cross and Your sacrifice that has given me a new start. Strengthen me that I might not sin against You.

 

Ask Yourself: Am I caught in some unrepentant sin? Do I really accept that Christ is as forgiving as He says He is? Am I committed to striving towards His perfection?

 

Apply: If you are currently stuck in unrepentant sin, seek the Lord and turn away from it. Ask for forgiveness and run back towards God. Realize that you will never attain perfection on this earth and just keep running after His perfection.

Leave a Reply

